So big news arose a good couple of weeks ago that we are having a female Doctor Who and it's caused a lot of controversy so i thought let's get my opinion on the matter out there.
I for one think having a female Doctor is fantastic - we are finally getting with the times! I've wanted a female Doctor for sometime now if i'm perfectly honest as, no offence to the men, but it gets very samey and it's just nice to shake things up a bit like they did with the Master/Missy by making him a female.
Also, just gonna put it out there, the Doctor has always been associated as a he but he is an alien and therefore is genderless so it doesn't matter if he regenerates into a female. I see the controversy with those who grow up with Doctor Who, as i am one of them, when they see this new sudden change and you instantly gravitate to disliking the decision - we grew up associating the Doctor as male so i completely understand why people are on edge about this sudden change.
![]() |
| Jodie Whittaker - The New Doctor |
One thing i'm not a big fan of, to be perfectly honest, is the choice of actor. I liked Jodie Whittaker in Broadchurch, don't get me wrong, and she was funny in St Trinians, but i do feel that the new writer of Doctor Who, Chris Chibnall, who is also the writer of Broadchurch, seemed to go with a safe option in terms of actor, he chose someone he knows, someone he has worked with and knows he gets on with and understands him as a writer but if this is the case why don't you just bring David Tennant back - there has never been anything about the doctor not being allowed to go back to a former regeneration. But in all seriousness, there are plenty of actresses who would have been perfect for the role, not saying Jodie Whittaker will be a bad doctor just a surprising choice, and who i could have easily seen as the Doctor in terms of the type of Doctor i can imagine them to be - some funny, some serious, some absolute nutcases but with Whittaker I will be surprised how she will take on the role and what direction she will take her incarnation of the Doctor. She's still not ginger though!! We need a ginger doctor - they've been hinting/ wanting it for years!
With having a female Doctor it also raises questions surrounding the companion. We have been so used to having a male Doctor and a female companion or a male Doctor with a female and a male companion i'm not sure where this incarnation will go - will we have a male companion in order to balance the show or will we stick with having a female companion - a second best, or will we have two companions or will the Doctor now forever be alone? No idea but i'm interested to find out!
To those who call themselves Whovians but are sending hate to Whittaker I suggest actually giving her a go before prejudging her based on her gender. The viewers for Doctor Who have ever decreased since Tennant's leave but I think people stopped giving the new Doctors a go - if you are a true Whovian you are not going to stop watching because of an actor or an actor's gender or really even the writing - you'll keep watching because you love the concept of the show. I admit that Moffat wasn't the right choice of writer for Doctor Who, the storylines lacked and became very boring however the most recent series was action packed, fun and dramatic - it felt like the old days. I feel that Moffat took on too much and rather than becoming writer of Doctor who and Sherlock should have just kept to Sherlock. I'm excited at the prospect of a new writer and Broadchurch was a big hit so i'm intrigued to the amount of drama and suspense that Chibnall will inject into the writing of Doctor Who.


No comments:
Post a Comment