Wednesday, 14 February 2018

Valentines Blues

Ello :) 





*Rant Post*

Ahh Valentines day, the most romantic day of the year *throws up*. I hate Valentines day and no it's not because i'm single; it's because it's pointless, you should be showering each other everyday of the year with love and respect, what makes Valentines day so special - more and more people are caring less for this day and i am one of them. When i was younger Valentines was a big deal - getting a special gift or card from a secret admirer or boyfriend but now i can't see the point in it. This year i'm having a Galentines day with one of my work besties Florence (she does have a boyfriend, but we decided we'd do something today).  I also spent last Valentines with one of my best friends, Megan. 

I feel very much that my generation, in particular, are pressured to do too much - they are pressured into having partners and if they don't by the time Valentines comes along, they are depressed. I know for a fact i am, people constantly ask me do i have a boyfriend - no i don't, do you want a boyfriend - not particularly at this time and then they automatically assume because i don't want a boyfriend that i'm gay - i'm not gay i just don't want a boyfriend, why can't people comprehend that?!  

I've never had a Valentine and i've been alright - a couple of years i've been a bit down in the dumps and had to beg my father (when i was little) to go buy me some roses or a cuddly toy just because i didn't want to be left out. Now i'm not so bothered- although i can't say i'm jumping for joy being single i don't feel the need for a boyfriend right now, in fact i don't really have the time for one - i barely have time for myself! 

I know for a fact i have a least one present coming my way this Valentines as my friend Amy bought me something for Valentines day literally in front of me haha and myself and Florence discussed getting each other Valentines presents as we are going for a little cute lunch. It's nice to do things on Valentines day but like i said i basically treat it as i would every other day i'm meeting up with one of my best friends for a nice meal and a catch up, only difference is presents and a romantic ambience where we are going. 

I think at this age Valentines day becomes increasingly difficult as everyone gets into couples, i know people who have gotten engaged and the pressure is on the singletons out there but you shouldn't worry about being in a relationship, we're young what's the bloody rush for god sakes? We have our whole lives ahead of us, enjoy being single - do the things you want to do - yes i understand it can be better doing things with someone else but that's what friends/family are for. 

Look truth is, Valentines is basically a day where some people in a relationship (doesn't apply to everyone) flaunt that they are in a relationship by saying oh look what so and so got me and try to make everyone else miserable by posting on social media - my advice is to avoid social media on Valentines day - you'll just make yourself depressed. 

Do something for yourself this Valentines - have a movie day, work if you have to work, go meet up with a friend- there's no need for Valentines so erase it - don't make youself miserable, treat it like every other day! 

To those of you who like Valentine's day - Happy Valentines day 

To those who don't like Valentines day - Happy Wednesday :) 

Apologies for my rant but i needed to get my opinion out in the open as like i said some people seem to assume i hate Valentines because i'm single and obviously that's not the case at all. I don't care that i'm single - more time to do stuff i want to do and more time to look after myself without the added pressure of having to make time and look after someone else - also i'm only 20 years old whats the rush?!

That's it for today!


See you next time,
S xoxo


No comments:

Post a Comment